Monday, March 30, 2015

Jesse Malin - New York Before the War

Conte+Potier photo

Today we debut a new acoustic video from Jesse Malin... "Here's The Situation." Tomorrow marks the release of Malin's greatest work to-date. The celebrated New York singer-songwriter is a longtime friend and an inspiration to a community of artists, but it's only through his latest work; New York Before the War, that we can see all of his work, all of his current thought process and emotions splayed in one place. It's a song about retaking what is not lost, an artistic alarm clock - and it's really good. For me, it's uniquely satisfying to go on the long journey with an artist and see them produce something challenging and rewarding all-at-once.

“I wanted to make a record that encompassed everything I’ve been through since I started playing hardcore when I was twelve or thirteen,” Malin says. Two years ago he had completed an album “out in the country” at White Star Studio near Charlottesville, VA. But then he realized it really wasn’t finished. “Late last December, just back from a tour, I found myself sitting in my studio apartment in an old, crooked building that had the words THE WAR boldly painted on its side,” Malin says. “In the silence of the holidays, away from family and friends, I found myself questioning everything I believed in. Looking out the window at a broken world where our values, culture and art have become instantly disposable, I felt lost and alienated, but still yearning for something more. Turning to my music, I tried to carve out a place where I could once again exist, and I sat down and wrote the rest of this record.”

Malin finished New York Before the War at the Magic Shop in Soho and Flux Studios on Avenue A . Players include guitarist Derek Cruz, who co-produced the New York sessions with Malin; bassist Catherine Popper, who has played with Ryan Adams and Jack White; and drummers Randy Schrager (Scissor Sisters) and Paul Garisto, who played on Malin’s debut solo album, The Fine Art of Self-Destruction, and with the Psychedelic Furs. Guitarist Don Dilego played on and produced the sessions in Virginia. The record features contributions from Alejandro Escovedo, R.E.M.'s Peter Buck and MC5’s Wayne Kramer, amongst others. This will be a most worthy addition to your music selection and already one of my favorite albums of 2015.

Jesse Malin
New York Before the War / Web / Fb / Tw

Friday, March 27, 2015

New Music from FORT FRANCES

YOU NEED TO HEAR THIS - Having long ago decided that Chicago's Fort Frances was one of my favorite acts in America, the news that the band will be releasing new material in May has me more than a bit excited.. David McMillin, Jeffrey Piper and Aaron Kiser are amongst the most passionate musicians I have known in my many days listening to and celebrating music. The trio fell right in-step with our family of bands and gifted artists with The Outlaw Roadshow and I assure you that you will see them on our stages sooner - rather than later. Songcraft is a clear strength, but for me the reason why Fort Frances are so great is the heights they achieve - together. Whether songs about ecstasy or living through a deep funk, the precision - the harmonies.. my lord!

"Anonymous" - the lead song from No One Needs to Know Our Name (May 12). Truly great stuff.

Music / Web / Fb / Tw / Ds 

Thursday, March 05, 2015

The North Country - Never There (Pt I)


Washington, DC - I've got a soft spot in my heart for any artist that finds creative ways to honor popular music's rich history. We have that in spades today. Storytellers THE NORTH COUNTRY have a new richly nuanced sound that looks back across its shoulder at both recent and far-flung pasts.

Today we debut the band's new track "Never There Part I" from There Is Nothing To Fear (Apr 20 release). The name of the band is an homage to Bob Dylan's  "Girl From The North Country" from The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan (1963.)

Like Dylan's stolid song of love and loss, there is a quiet progression on this track - it plods lightly moving towards the light and we are witness to it all. The North Country have drafted a new, precise spell-of-a-song; one that's  full of wonder and restraint. It just goes to show that while there's but a few undiscovered islands of creativity out there, there's still hope all around. Follow the link below to peruse their back catalog. Waiting anxiously for the new one!

Definitely One To Watch - The North Country are Jonathan Parker, Ilia Kobrinsky, Andrew Grossman, Michael Hernandez, Shaun Dubick, and Leah Gage.

MusicFacbook / Twitter